Camilla Persson Benbow

Honored by:The Psychology Department
Brick location:PAVER:14  map

Dr. Camilla Persson Benbow was the first woman to chair the Department of Psychology at Iowa State University. She was appointed Associate Professor of Psychology at Iowa State University Department in 1985 after earning BA (Psychology), NM (Psychology), MS (Education of the Gifted), and EdD (Gifted) degrees at The Johns Hopkins University and four subsequent years as Associate Director of the Study of Mathematically Precocious Youth SMPY. Dr. Benbow brought the SMPY project to Iowa State in 1986 as its Co-Director. Added to this were related programs including Challenges for Youth - Talented and Gifted, CY-TAG, and the Iowa Talent Search Program.

In 1990 Dr. Benbow was promoted to Professor rank and in 1992 she was appointed to chair the department. Dr. Benbow has a long and continuing set of research and scholarly works. She also has a long list of honors beginning with the BA with general honors and election to Phi Beta Kappa in 1977. Her doctorate was also earned with distinction. Among later awards are the Early Scholar Award in 1985, the Best Research Paper on Gifted in 1987, and the Distinguished Scholar Award, all from the National Association of Gifted Children. She received Mensa Research Paper Awards in 1985, 1986, 1989, 1992, and 1994. She is in the Society of Fellows of The Johns Hopkins University and is a Fellow of the Division of Educational Psychology of the American Psychological Association.


Paver Inscription:

P. Peterson
Janet E. Helms
A. Palubinskas
Camilla Benbow"