Charlotte Strothman Young

Honored by:Kay Mohling, Wilbur Young, Mike Young, Barbara Young, Gene Mohling, Justin Mohling, Brandon Young, Katherine Mohling and Caroline Mohling
Brick location:PAVER:21  map

We are honoring Charlotte Young for her many years of service and her professional accomplishments. She joined I.S.U. Extension in 1964 as a Home Economist in Cedar and Johnson counties, later becoming the East Central Area Consumer and Management Specialist. As she retires in 1995, her past professional activities and awards are numerous. Listed below are some of these:

Professional Activities:
Past President, National Association of Extension Home Economists, '83-'84
Past President, Iowa State University Extension Association, 1976
Past President, Cedar Rapids Chamber of Commerce-Cons. Bureau, '78-'80 State Board, I.S.U. Professional and Scientific Council
State Committee - I.S.U. Presidential Search Committee, 1985
National Board ECOP-Sub Committee on Programming, 1985
State Representative, College of Financial Planning for High School Financial Planning Program
State Representative for National Coalition for Consumer Educators, United Way Committee, Cedar Rapids
Mortgage Foreclosure Prevention Program
Mercy Hospital Women's Advisory Board, Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Credit Counseling Service Board, 1970-1980
I.S.U. Excellence in Extension Committee
National Speakers Bureau for Epsilon Sigma Phi, 1985-1990
J.C. Penney Education Advisory Board, New York, 1970
A.S.T.M. Safety Committee Philadelphia, 1975-1976
I.H.E.A. Extension Chr. & Annual Meeting Committee Member
A.H.E.A.-I.H.E.A. N.A.E.H.E. I.S.U.E.A. E.S.P.
Member Association for Financial Planners and Educators Founder of N.A.E.H.E.
Annual Public Policy Workshop for State Presidents in Washington D.C.

J.C. Penney Fellowship
R.K. Bliss Award
I.S.U. Extension Meritorious Award
N.A.E.H.E. Distinguished Service
N.A.E.H.E. Outstanding Home Economist Award
Epsilon Sigma Phi Meritorious Service Award and Certificate of Recognition
I.S.U Extension Educator Award
I.S.U. Alumni Superior Service Award

We are very proud of her dedication and commitment to I.S.U. Extension. It is with love and admiration that we want to honor her with a granite paver in the Plaza of Heroines.

Wilbur Young, Mike Young, Barbara Young, Kay Young Mohling, Gene Mohling, Jusfin Young, Brandon Young, Katherine Mohling, Caroline Mohling.


Paver Inscription:

ISU Extension